Archive for February 12th, 2010

Snowy perspective

This past week, we have been hit with record snowfalls and basically locked in the house for almost a full week. The kids missed the full week of school! There were times when everyone together in the house felt like too much, but today, when my husband made it back out to work, and I grumbled to myself about being home yet again, my 3 year old said, “I sure miss Daddy. It was so nice for us all to be together for so long.”

What a great perspective! So I’m going to count the blessings from the snowstorms.

  • A reminder of Who is in charge (and it’s not me! Man plans and God laughs, right?)
  • Our power (and heat) stayed on! (Many were/are without power)
  • Time to work on my dissertation while my husband got to play with the kiddeos
  • A chance to review the freezer, and since we can’t go shopping, use some of our bounty
  • Several opportunities to show my children about the importance of helping others
  • Lots of (enforced) family time 🙂

I’m sure there are many, many more. We are truly blessed.